Andrew Ford (b. 1957)

Never (2016)
for clarinet/bass clarinet, violin and piano

1. Night Flight
2. Fanfares
3. Lullaby for Lost Children

Never can best be regarded as a suite from my opera Peter Pan, though none of the music appears in the opera in exactly the same way, and some of it not at all. The music is in three discreet but continuous movements, the central 'Fanfares' a reworking of the material in my sketch for solo trumpet, Fanfare for Neverland.

Never was commissioned by the excellent players of Plexus, Philip Arkinstall, Monica Curro and Stefan Cassomenos, and first performed by them at the Melbourne Recital Centre on 29 May 2017.

© A.F.